Pages Menu

Categories Menu

HACCP Conference Awards

Nominations for the 2017 HACCP Conference Awards are now closed. Congratulations to our finalists, listed below. Please scroll down to find out more. 

The Annual HACCP Conference Awards provides the food industry with a vehicle to recognise and reward the achievements of those who work tirelessly to ensure the safety of our food supply.

We encourage all food safety professionals to nominate for the awards, to celebrate and acknowledge the important work which happens daily to ensure the safety of our food supply.

An independent panel has been set up to shortlist the award nomination finalists, to be announced 14 August 2017.  Please note that for Category 4: Outstanding Individual Working as a Registered Food Safety Auditor the nominees must be nominated by a client they’ve worked for directly, and nominations by Certification Bodies will not be accepted.


Category 1: Ross Peters Award for Excellence in Food Safety

Congratulations to our winner Damien Alexander, Woolworths

This category is intended for any individual who has made a notable contribution to food safety in Australia. This person may be from any size company and from any sector within the agri-food industry.

Congratulations to our finalists:

  • Damien Alexander, Woolworths
  • Samantha Harris, FTA Food Solutions Pty Ltd


Category 2:
Leaders of the Future, Food Safety Learning Scholarship

Congratulations to our winner Jessica Roos, PM Fresh

SAI Global launched the Food Safety Learning Scholarship in 2013 as a way of promoting and supporting highly skilled industry professionals. The Scholarship will provide one individual with the opportunity to take part in SAI Global’s new qualification for food safety and quality assurance professionals.

Congratulations to our finalists:

  • Jessica Roos, PM Fresh
  • Katie McPherson, Canterbury-Bankstown Council
  • Jessica Kelly, True Foods Pty Ltd


Category 3:
 Innovators in Food Safety

Congratulations to our winner Purewater

This Award recognises an individual or organisation that has developed best in class innovations in technology, process, procedure and training regarding food safety.

Congratulations to our finalists:

  • Scott Eastwood, Americold Logistics
  • Ascot Investments Limited (Trading as Purewater)


Terms and Conditions

Individuals or companies may submit more than one nomination in separate categories. Self-nominations will be accepted and you may also nominate on another person’s behalf. All nominees must meet the requirements listed under each category and must be currently working in the food industry. All award winners are expected to attend the 2017 Australian HACCP Conference in Sydney, and will be responsible for their own travel and accommodation costs. Previous winners are not eligible. Awards are open to Australian, New Zealand and South Pacific Island* residents only. For the Category Two Scholarship, all training must be completed by December 2018.

*Some exclusions apply.